Glass fusing in the tropics

Fusing flotsam

glass fusing samara costa rica

Because my glass fusing studio is at the beach, students are always asking me about using shells and sea glass. The sea glass, I explain to them, is an unknown quantity that probably won’t fuse well to system 96 or float glass.  We can talk about compatibility and different formulas of glass.  But I had no way to explain why I believe that shells won’t work in a fused glass project.  So when Kelly insisted, I let him try.  He sandwiched the shells between two layers of 1/8″ glass and fired to full fuse.

art glass costa rica

The results speak for themselves, I think.

One response

  1. Interesting to know. Thank you for sharing.

    December 23, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers